Wisdom and Tea: Reflections of Muslim Home-making Moms

Think. Learn. Act. Remind.

Say it!

 

Have you ever noticed how when children are sick, they only want their mommy? Even little babies will do that. And that clinginess is special for the mama … because it is an expression of love.

Recently, my son has been sick …. he’s endured the sickness like a brave little boy. But now that he is old enough to express himself better, he comes running to me, hugs me or holds my hand, looks into my eyes and tells me,

“Mama, I just want you!”

Those words, in all their pure simplicity, are so very dear to me! They make me feel special and they strengthen the bond I have with my son!

But think about it for a minute: what if my son had merely been clingy and had not expressed his feelings in so many words? Would I still feel this special? Maybe. Maybe not.

Sometimes we need to hear words of appreciation and love from our loved ones. Just as an affirmation of their feelings for us. Even if we know how they feel about us, we still need to hear them telling us about their love for us.

And if we need this affirmation, then our spouses, our children, our parents, our siblings need them from us too. They need to hear us say, “I love you!” or “I miss you!” or “I was thinking of you today!”.

When was the last time we said these words to those who matter to us the most? If it’s been a while, it’s time to go to them, hold their hand, look into their eyes, and say those precious words.

Those words will make their day, too, just like my son’s words made mine!

 

About Humaira Khan

"I don't know what the future holds but I know Who holds the future."

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 18, 2012 by in HomeMaking, Husband, Marriage, Parenting, Reflections, Wife and tagged , , , , , , .

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

